Mariano Marzo Carpio

Primer plano de Mariano Marzo con los brazos cruzados.

Lead Director

Independent Non-Executive

Education: Bachelor’s Degree in Geology and PhD in Geological Sciences from Universidad de Barcelona.

Experience: Mr. Marzo has worked in Europe, the United States, South America, the Middle East, and North Africa and is a member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and the European Association of Petroleum Geoscientists & Engineers. Furthermore, Mr. Marzo has participated in several advisory boards on energy matters of the central government and autonomous community administrations, as well as other institutions, and he has remained connected to the oil and gas industry through research applied to the exploration sector and the sedimentological characterization of fields.

Mr. Marzo has also formed part of the editorial boards of journals of great international prestige in the field of geology, such as Basin Research, Geology and Sedimentology, and he has published numerous works and worked vastly as a lecturer. His educational activity was rewarded with the “Distinction of the Universidad de Barcelona for the Best Scientific and Humanist Education Activities” in 2014.

Other notable positions: Since 1989, Mr. Marzo has been a Professor of Stratigraphy and Lecturer of Energy Resources and Hydrocarbon Geology in the Faculty of Earth Sciences of the Universidad de Barcelona (Department of Earth and Ocean Dynamics), where he has developed his teaching career as a researcher, academic, columnist and lecturer. He has been the Director of the Universidad de Barcelona-Fundación Repsol Energy Transition professorship since 2019. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of Club Español de la Energía and was Director of Section 4 (Earth Sciences) of the Reial Acadèmia de Ciències i Arts de Barcelona. He is now a full member.

Board committees: Chairman of the Sustainability Committee, Member of the Nomination Committee, and Member of the Compensation Committee.