Repsol YPF Announces 25% Reserves Reduction

Press Release 26/01/2006 07:00
  • Repsol YPF today announced expected downward revisions in its proved reserves of 1,254 million BOE.
  • These revisions relate primarily to natural gas reserves. The majority are located in Bolivia (52%) and Argentina (41%), along with smaller amounts in Venezuela and elsewhere.
  • The revisions were mainly driven by changes in the applicable legal framework in Bolivia, due to the new Hydrocarbon Law and greater knowledge of certain fields in that country and Argentina.
  • The revisions are currently expected to result in an asset impairment charge of less than ¬50 million. Repsol YPF anticipates 2005 earnings to be consistent with results for the first three quarters.
  • Repsol YPF management has taken a number of steps in the past year to enhance reserves booking procedures, including the creation of an independent Reserves Control Group separated from the business units.
  • The Audit Committee was assigned last April the oversight responsibility for reserves control, with the Reserves Control Group reporting directly to the Audit Committee.
  • An independent review into the circumstances of the revisions is being conducted by the Audit Committee.
DETAILS FOR THE CONFERENCE CALL

Thursday, 26th January 2006

10.00h (Madrid) 09.00h (London)

Dial in number for Spain:    +34  917879672

Back Up dial number:   +34  914142012

Dial in number UK: 08002799163

Dial in number US: 18667934275

See appendix for replay and the rest of toll-free numbers

Unique access Code:    90667008#

DETAILS FOR THE PRESS CONFERENCE

Thursday, 26th January 2006

12.00h (Madrid) 11.00h (London) Both the Conference Call and the Press conference can be seen  on the companys website. See the press release (PDF 189 Kb)

Download Acrobat Reader