Antonio Brufau, Director of the Year Award for 2014

Press Release 02/07/2015 17:45
  • The chairman of Repsol received the award at an event, which was attended by the Minister of Industry, Energy & Tourism, José Manuel Soria; the honorary chairman and founder of the AED (Spanish Association of Directors), Isidro Fainé; the director of the Economic Office of the Spanish Government, Álvaro Nadal; and the chairman of the institution, Pau Herrera. 
  • Brufau stressed that "industry and society must work together to implement responsible and sustainable foundations of social well-being".

Repsol's chairman, Antonio Brufau, received the 23rd AED Director of the Year Award for 2014, which recognizes him as the business leader that has best developed their professional activities over the last year. 

In his speech, Antonio Brufau thanked the directors and the Association for their recognition and said that at present, a triumphant leader is one that understands that we are not in a context of change, but in a "change of context". The chairman of Repsol was convinced that future challenges, especially those within the energy sector, require "new approaches" and that innovation and technology are the "most significant drivers of change". He therefore stressed the importance of industry and society "working together" in order to lay responsable and sustainable foundations for social well-being. 

The chairman of the AED, Pau Herrera, said that after 23 editions of the best director awards, "one of the greatest assets that this country has is its directors". Herrera also wished to emphasize the remarkable work carried out by Brufau at the helm of Repsol, noting that “Antonio Brufau has managed to turn a Spanish company into a global player and one of the world's main private energy groups”.

The ceremony, held on July 1 at the Westin Palace Hotel in Madrid, was attended by more than 300 leaders from the corporate, institutional and media sectors. Among those who attended were previous AED award winners such as María Dolores Dancausa (Bankinter), Ignacio Garralda (Mutua Madrileña); Rafael Villaseca (CEO, Gas Natural Fenosa) and Francisco Belil. 

This current award joins those received in recent years, which include Business Leader of the Year by Spain-United States Chamber of Commerce, CEO of the Year by Petroleum Economist, Best Sector CEO by Institutional Investor, and CEO of the Year by Platts Energy, among others.